Late Tom Weiskopf, Jim Furyk among 12 candidates considered for World Golf Hall of Fame

The late American pro and 16-time PGA Tour Champion and 1973 Open Champion Tom Weiskopf is one of 12 candidates finalized for the Class of 2024 in the World Golf Hall of Fame. The induction for the same happens once every two years.

The 12 finalists comprise four male golfers, four female golfers and four contributors, the list of which was put together by a 20-member selection panel. The selection panel included media and leaders of major golf organizations and members of the Hall of Fame, who met at the Players Championship on March 8 to vote on the induction.

Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024 is a legendary list

20th Ryder Cup Matches 1973 (Photo by Don Morley/Getty Images)
20th Ryder Cup Matches 1973 (Photo by Don Morley/Getty Images)

A pro golfer must be of 45 years or older to be considered for the induction. So far, Jamie Anderson and Bob Ferguson remain the only eligible players with three British Open titles to have not had the honorary induction into the prestigious Golf Hall of Fame.

Distinguished golfers chosen for the honor include:

  1. Padraig Harrington
  2. Tom Weiskopf
  3. Dottie Pepper
  4. Jim Furyk
  5. Cristie Kerr
  6. Sandra Palmer
  7. Peter Dawson
  8. Butch Harmon
  9. Johnny Farrell
  10. Beverly Hanson
  11. Jay Sigel

Seven remaining co-founders of the LPGA, including Alice Bauer, Bettye Danoff, Helen Detweiler, Helen Hicks, Opal Hill, Shirley Spork and Sally Sessions, are also scheduled to be inducted into the Golf Hall of Fame.

Harrington holds an impressive collection of 36 wins, The Irish pro is a 15-time European Tour winner and six-time PGA Champion. He played in six teams in the Ryder Cup and also captained the 2020 team.

American professional golfer and television golf broadcaster Dottie Pepper competed as Dottie Mochrie from 1988 to 1995. She holds two major championship titles and won 17 LPGA Tour events.

Meanwhile, 2010 FedEx Player of the Year Jim Furyk, who’s also referred to as Mr. 58 for holding the lowest score in PGA history for the round of 58 he shot in the final round of the 2016 Travelers Championship, has been chosen for induction in the Golf Hall of Fame.

Kerr holds 20 wins on the LPGA Tour, which includes two major championships, amassing a whopping $19 million throughout her career. Meanwhile, Palmer turned pro and joined the LPGA Tour in 1964 and went on to win 19 events. She won the 1972 Titleholders Championship and the 1975 U.S. Open Championship and also won the LPGA Player of the Year title the same year.

English pro Peter Dawson played a key role in the return of golf to the Olympics. He also served as the chief executive of the R&A for 16 years. Harmon, meanwhile, was a PGA Tour player from 1970-71, winning a title. He then went on to work as King Hassan-II’s personal instructor. His other pupils include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Greg Norman.

The late Johnny Farrell was voted the Best Golf Professional in the USA for two consecutive years in 1927 and 1928, as he won six tournaments consecutively. He held 22 PGA Tour wins. He also played for the American team in the first three Ryder Cups.

The late American pro Beverly Hanson won 17 events in the LPGA Tour with a total of 19 professional wins. Meanwhile, the illustrious career of Jay Sigel comprises 28 amateur wins and 20 professional ones, which includes eight PGA Championship titles.

Quick Links

More from Sportskeeda

Latest news
Related news