Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize 2024 announces Bhavi Mehta as the winner – Times of India

On April 29, the Oxford Bookstores named Bhavi Mehta as the winner of the 9th edition of Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize 2024. The event was held at the India Habitat Centre and celebrated Mehta’s work on “The Book Beautiful” by Pradeep Sebastian, published by Hachette India. Mehta received a trophy, certificate, and a cash prize of INR 1 lakh.
Dr.Alka Pande, Dr. Shashi Tharoor, H.E Ms. May-Elin Stener, Ms. Anja Riedeberger, and Mr. Swagat Sengupta were present to honour Mehta, alongside other figures from the industry.
Speaking at the ceremony, Bhavi Mehta, the winner of the 9th Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize said, “I would like to thank Oxford Bookstore for this wonderful honour and Hachette India for giving me the opportunity to work on such a beautiful book. I am deeply humbled and grateful. A shout out to Pradeep Sebastian for trusting me with his book, really happy how it turned out. This is for my one-year-old son, Samar, who reminds me every day to stay curious and have fun”.
Announcing the winner of the 9th Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize 2024, Chair of Jury, Dr. Alka Pande said, “The Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize has come of age in bringing and showcasing the detailing, interest, and engagement of the writer, the designer, and the publisher. I am indeed very happy to have been associated with the prize since its inception and to continuously be inspired by the creativity and dedication displayed by the cover designers. Each cover tells a unique story, and it is truly an honour to be recognizing and celebrating these artistic achievements. Moreover, I want to acknowledge the commitment of my jury and, most importantly, the vision of Priti Paul, who while owning one of the best bookshops in the country, also has the vision to institute the prize and fuel it with her constant support.”
Three other designers were also recognised for their exceptional work, namely: Gunjan Ahlawat for ‘The Penguin Book of Indian Poets’, Saurav Das for ‘Azad Nagar’, and Saurabh Garge for ‘The Adornment of Gods’.
On the same day, the longlist for the second Oxford Bookstore Art Book Prize was announced. Dr. Alka Pande and H.E Ms. May-Elin Stener revealed the 13 titles recognized for their artistic quality and overall design.
The titles are –
1. Title- Tipu Sultan: Image & Distance
Publisher- Delhi Art Gallery Pvt. Ltd.
Artist- Giles Tillotson
2. Title- Iconic Masterpieces of Indian Modern Art- Edition 3
Publisher- Delhi Art Gallery Pvt. Ltd.
Artist- Kishore Singh
3. Title- The Shoemaker’s Stitch: Mochi Embroideries of Gujarat in the TAPI Collection
Publisher- Niyogi Books
Artist- Shilpa Shah & Rosemary Crill
4. Title- Paachakam- Heritage Cuisine of Kerala
Publisher- Roli Books
Artist- Sabita Radhakrishna
5. Title- Thota Vaikuntam- A Celebration
Publisher- Aleph Book Company
Artist- Thota Vaikuntam
6. Title- Tantra on the Edge: Inspirations and Experiments in Twentieth Century Indian Art
Publisher- Delhi Art Gallery Pvt. Ltd.
Artist- Kishore Singh
7. Title- Insurgency and The Artist- The Art of the Freedom Struggle in India
Publisher- Roli Books
Artist- Vinay Lal
8. Title- Wildlife Chronicles
Publisher- Rupa Publications
Artist- Adit Jain
9. Title- Grit: The Vishwas Story
Publisher- Hachette India
Artist- VR Ferose
10. Title- International Gallerie
Publisher- Gallerie Publishers
Artist- Bina Sarkar Ellias
11. Title- Taara of the Stars
Publisher- Hachette India
Artist- Praveen Balakrishnan
12. Title- March to Freedom
Publisher- Delhi Art Gallery Pvt. Ltd.
Artist- Mrinalini Venkateswaran
13. Title- The Night the Writing Fell Silent
Publisher- Priyasari Art Gallery
Artist- Srajana Kaikini / Jogen Chowdhury
The Oxford Bookstore Art Book Prize was launched in 2022 with the Visual Arts Gallery, and recognises art across various genres in publications. The jury for this prize includes notable figures such as H.E Ms. May-Elin Stener, Ms. Priti Paul, Dr. Alka Pande, Mr. Anjani Kumar Singh, and Ms. Sunaina Anand.
Both the Book Cover Prize and the Art Book Prize aim to celebrate and support artists, designers, and publishers in India.

Latest news
Related news